Simplicity

out-of-clutter-find-simplicity

Simplicity.  A simple word, right?  I mean, that is the meaning of the word itself.  It is my word this year.

Simplicity.

So what does it look like to live a life of Simplicity?  That is the question.  That is the journey I am partaking this new year.  The dictionary has several definitions for this word.  (I enjoy checking out what dictionaries say about words.)  The definitions are short and to the point, what you would expect for such a word; for example…”The state of being simple, uncomplicated…”

There is a definition of sorts, however, that I do not find in any dictionary.  It is a definition, explanation or better yet, a way of living out this word that a friend and mentor once asked me.  “What are the good things in your life that you need to say no to so you have room to do the great things?”

Yes, it is a statement I needed to repeat and process a little.  It is a statement that has made a huge impact on my life and the life of my family.  There are just so many good things out there.   Every day can be filled with good deeds and good investments.  There are so many good activities and opportunities.  Don’t get me wrong, there is nothing wrong with the good!  We should be doing good things.  What I find is that too often I fill my schedule, my days, my time with so many good things that I end up exhausted, trying to find space to rest and honestly, just sit down.

Here is the thing;  The greatest gift this statement gives to me is the permission to say “No.”  I don’t say it lightly.  I pray.  I seek advice from those I respect and trust.  I  pray some more and listen for a word from the Lord.   For me, life is short.  I want to do good things, but most of all, I want to be involved in the great things that God has for me to be a part of.  I want to be smack dab in the middle of it.  What I have learned is that I can’t do that if my schedule is full.  If my family is running around in a hundred million places.  If I am crawling to bed at night and hitting snooze 15 times in the morning.  I am not giving my best, to myself, to my family, to those around me or to Jesus.

So this year I commit myself to evaluating where I am at in my doing (work).  I commit to making sure I am being (rest).  I commit to saying no to some good things so that I have room to do some great things.

I will most likely be writing more about Simplicity in the days and months to come.  Much more to process with this simple word.  Or is it really simple?

 smileyWink

Leave a Reply

