Treasure = Heart

Baby Jesus

“Where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.” – Luke 12:34

 

It’s the most wonderful time of the year!  Right?  I do think it is, when my heart is in the right place.  It is so easy to get distracted during this season.  My to do list won’t stop.  I just finished my Christmas Shopping this weekend in the midst of a LOT of people.  Finding a parking spot was not fun.  Waiting in lines was not enjoyable either.  Oh, but even as I say I am finished, I still have stockings to stuff.  Got to get to the stores sometime this week.  Oh yea, and I haven’t even started wrapping presents yet.

And then there is the baking….  We still want to make cookies with the kids this weekend.  Family is coming to town for Christmas, so I need to get to the grocery store as well.  And one night this week we want to drive around to see the lights.  Got to get to The Fantasy of Lights!  

Does any of this sound familiar?  I need to assume that I am not alone in this.  Sigh.

It is so easy to get distracted and to allow my heart to be filled with the anxiety and stress of the busyness of this time of year.  Today’s scripture was a good reminder for me.  Where is my heart this Christmas?  What is my treasure?  Is it gifts, lights, decorations, carols, snow and all things ‘Christmas’ to me?  Or is it the manger, the Christ Child, Savior of the world, Baby, God incarnate, God with us?  

A simple reminder for me today.  Christmas is about one thing: God loved the world so much, that He sent His only Son to us, here on this earth, so that we may know His love for us and believe in Him and live with Him forever!! (from John 3:16, in my own words)  It is in this truth, this miracle, this gift of love that I am filled with joy, with excitement, with peace.  God loves you and me that much!

Where is your heart this Christmas?  What is your treasure?  May each one of us experience the wonder and joy that only Jesus can truly give our hearts this season.  God bless you, every one of you!  Merry Christmas.

 

“For unto us a child is born, to us a son is given…and he will be called Wonderful Counselor,            Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.” – Isaiah 9:6

 

“Oh Come, All Ye Faithful, Joyful and Triumphant, O Come ye, O Come ye to Bethlehem.  Come and Behold Him, born the King of Angels.  O come let us adore Him, Christ the Lord!”

 

One thought on “Treasure = Heart

  1. AND you took time to write this and bless me, beloved friend Michelle 🙂 Thank you!! May Jesus stretch your time like rubber bands as you continue to neither look to the left nor to the right, but full in His wonderful face. May Jesus fill this celebration of His B’day with His JOY!!!

Leave a Reply

