Mary

mary's song

Reading through Luke, I can not help but be awed by Mary.  A young girl who said, “Yes”.  Her exact words as recorded in Luke; “I am the Lord’s servant, may it be to me as you have said.”  She said this to Gabriel, Angel of The Lord, who was standing right there in her midst.

I am not sure what I would do if such a thing happened to me; a visit from Gabriel or any Angel of The Lord for that matter.  I can not help to think of the depth of love Mary must have had for her God.  To surrender so easily and give herself so fully to God’s will.  I imagine that she really had no idea what was to come, but she knew her God enough to know that He was good, that He was love.  That was enough to say yes.

May my thoughts, words and actions reflect the love I have for my God.  May the depth of my love grow deep, and may Mary be an inspiration of faith to my soul.

“Marvel with me at the fact that she, Mary, was plain, simple and extraordinarily ordinary.  That’s part of the beauty of God choosing someone like you and me to know Him and serve Him.  May we never get over it.” – Beth Moore, 90 Days with the One and Only.

Thank you, Father God, for looking with such favor upon your children.  You love us.  You care for us, and you call us to participate in the reconciliation of your children to you.  I am humbled.  I am awed.  May we step into your presence with full confidence and humility, knowing that you are always with us, loving us, guiding us and walking us through every valley and up every mountain.  You are good.  You are faithful.  You are love.  May my love for you be as deep and pure as Mary’s.  Thank you for her witness, her example, her heart.  Amen.

One thought on “Mary

  1. Michelle, I too have always been impressed with Mary’s immediate heart of obedience! In the NAS it says “Behold, the bondslave of the Lord; be it done to me according to your word.” May it be so with us also ❤

Leave a Reply

