New Nature

Read Colossians 3:1-11

10 Put on your new nature, and be renewed as you learn to know your Creator and become like him. — Colossians 3:1-11

This is the challenge I butt up against daily. What does it look like to put on my, “new nature?’ It seems I can fall effortlessly into the old, but the new takes effort and intentionality. What are the behaviors that I might embrace to put on this new nature? Are there habits I need to address or reform or abandon altogether? What new habits do I need to form?

One of the things that has been helping me in this pursuit latley is a liturgy written by Aaron Niequist. Aaron is a songwriter and worship leader who has created a series called A New Liturgy (www.anewliturgy.com). His latest offering (A New Liturgy #5) is divided in two parts. The first part is intended to be spoken and sung at the beginning of the day on the way to work. The second is to reflect on the day during the commute home. It is a series of songs and prayers that gives voice to the kind of prayers my heart longs to pray. “What do you want me to create or build today? Who do you want me to serve? May these small hands help build your Kingdom today.” Powerful.

The liturgy is built around a song called, “Here are my Hands.” This is my prayer today as I seek to put on my new nature and know my creator.

Here are my Hands
aaron niequist

here are my hands
they’re small, they’re small and
here are my hands
they’re small and trembling

here are my arms
they’re weak, they’re weak but
here are my arms
they’re weak but willing

here are my eyes
they burn with memories
here are my eyes
they’re teared and tired

here are my feet
they’re slow, they’re slow but
here are my feet
they’re stumbling to You now

and God, i know
there still is so much i just don’t know
and God, i believe
Your Kingdom can still be built in me

so here is my heart
here is my soul
take me in part
take me in whole, whole, whole
i want to be whole, whole, whole

here are my hands
they’re small, they’re small and
here are my hands
they’re small and trembling

here are my dreams
they’re me protected
here are my dreams
so please be gentle now

and God, i know
there still is so much i just don’t know
and God, i believe
Your Kingdom can still be built on me

so here is my heart
here is my soul
Your kingdom come
my kingdom go, go, go
i’m letting it go, go, go

I want to know my creator and be renewed in him. Help me understand more fully what this looks like today. Your kingdom come. My kingdom go.

What are the practices/habits that help you put on and embrace your new nature? How are you learning to know your creator and becoming more like him?

Leave a Reply

