Stillness

dawn-wallpapers_31452_1920x1200

5 AM is early.
My alarm goes off almost every morning at 5 AM.
I say almost, because I do give myself a couple of mornings to sleep in.
But usually 5 mornings out of the week, 5 AM interrupts my sleep.
It’s still dark.  I am still tired.  And the bed is cozy and warm.
Yet I do my best to drag myself out of bed, wake myself up with a shower and a cup of coffee.
I admit I am not always successful.
Today as I read  “Jesus Calling” and dug into scripture,
I was given a gift, a reminder, a reassurance of how precious this time can be.

Psalm 143:8
“Let the morning bring me word of your unfailing love,
for I have put my trust in you.
Show me the way I should go,  for to you I lift up my soul.”

It is dark outside.  The sun slowly creeps into the morning sky.
All is quiet.  All is still.
And it is in the stillness that I seek Jesus.
I seek His love, His forgiveness, His encouragement, His wisdom.
I seek reassurance. I seek direction.
My world is rarely still.
Is that just me or can you relate?
2 kiddos, homeschooling, housekeeping…along with everything else,
does not add up to a lot of stillness and quiet.
And that is ok.
I love my family, and my life, even if it is messy and loud sometimes, ok, a lot!
But it is in the quiet, the stillness that I find strength to face each messy day.
It is in His presence in the early morning hours where I am reminded
Who I am and Whose I am.
I can think of no better way to begin my day.
So I will continue to do my best to drag myself out of bed in the dark morning hours.
To be still and know that He is God.
To be filled and strengthened  for each day.

May you hear His still small voice today reminding  you of
Who you are and Whose you are.
You are a child of God and you are dearly loved.

Thank you, Jesus, that you walk with us in every moment of every day,
but how precious it is to sit in the quiet stillness with you, before the day stirs.  
Speak to my heart and grant me grace to face whatever this day brings.
Amen.

One thought on “Stillness

  1. Amen! Your post also sets a great example for others and challenges us to do the same! It’s such a great way for the sheep to hear the voice of the Shepherd ❤

Leave a Reply

