Down the Middle

Right now I am using the Moravian Daily Texts as my daily reading guide. You can join me. Just sign up for the daily email at www.moravian.org

Read Galatians 4:28-5:6

Galatians 5:6 (Message)
For in Christ, neither our most conscientious religion nor disregard of religion amounts to anything. What matters is something far more interior:faith expressed in love.

I’ve always been a, “down the middle” kind of guy. I’m not overly political in one direction or another. Yes, I am a moderate even in the polarized political climate in which we live. I generally am not overtly religious, nor irreligious. I’m a pastor in a traditional, mainline denomination, yet I don’t often relate to or understand many of the, “churchy things” other pastors do. Even when I played baseball growing up… as a hitter I liked it right down the middle.

Maybe that’s why this verse jumped out at me from the reading this morning. Throughout Galatians Paul is addressing the problem of the Judaizers insistence on circumcision, and the consequence of the Galatian church’s accepting of this insistence. But here Paul makes it clear that this is not simply a line drawn in the sand. Ultimately it’s not about being religious or irreligious… circumcised or not circumcised. Instead it is about something more significant; “faith expressed in love.”

God expresses his faithfulness to us in love by fulfilling all the requirements of the law through Jesus. How then might we respond? How might, even today, we express our faithfulness to God in love?

Leave a Reply

