I Want To

Luke 5:1-16 (Message)
Push Out into Deep Water
1 Once when he was standing on the shore of Lake Gennesaret, the crowd was pushing in on him to better hear the Word of God. 2 He noticed two boats tied up. The fishermen had just left them and were out scrubbing their nets. 3 He climbed into the boat that was Simon’s and asked him to put out a little from the shore. Sitting there, using the boat for a pulpit, he taught the crowd.
4 When he finished teaching, he said to Simon, “Push out into deep water and let your nets out for a catch.”
5 Simon said, “Master, we’ve been fishing hard all night and haven’t caught even a minnow. But if you say so, I’ll let out the nets.” 6 It was no sooner said than done– a huge haul of fish, straining the nets past capacity. 7 They waved to their partners in the other boat to come help them. They filled both boats, nearly swamping them with the catch.
8 Simon Peter, when he saw it, fell to his knees before Jesus. “Master, leave. I’m a sinner and can’t handle this holiness. Leave me to myself.” 9 When they pulled in that catch of fish, awe overwhelmed Simon and everyone with him. 10 It was the same with James and John, Zebedee’s sons, coworkers with Simon.
Jesus said to Simon, “There is nothing to fear. From now on you’ll be fishing for men and women.” 11 They pulled their boats up on the beach, left them, nets and all, and followed him.
Invitation to a Changed Life
12 One day in one of the villages there was a man covered with leprosy. When he saw Jesus he fell down before him in prayer and said, “If you want to, you can cleanse me.”
13 Jesus put out his hand, touched him, and said, “I want to. Be clean.” Then and there his skin was smooth, the leprosy gone.
14 Jesus instructed him, “Don’t talk about this all over town. Just quietly present your healed self to the priest, along with the offering ordered by Moses. Your cleansed and obedient life, not your words, will bear witness to what I have done.” 15 But the man couldn’t keep it to himself, and the word got out. Soon a large crowd of people had gathered to listen and be healed of their ailments. 16 As often as possible Jesus withdrew to out- of- the- way places for prayer.

I wrote this post back in June. My devotional reading was on the same passage today so I thought I would re-post.

I am struck this morning by what the man says to Jesus in this encounter. He does not appear to have any doubt that Jesus can heal him. It seems, however, that he wonders if Jesus wants to heal him. “If you want to, you can…”

For most of my life I have prayed prayers for healing with this same kind of wonder. They sound something like, “God, if it is your will, please heal ___________.” I even had a professor in seminary who strongly encouraged us to, “not write checks we can’t cash when we pray for healing.” While all this may sound well and good and theologically safe and sound, ultimately it means I have spent most of my life praying for healing for people with little to no expectation that God will actually do anything. For much of my life I have been much like the man in this story… confident that God can, but not certain that he wants to or will.

Over the last few years I have spent more time around people who pray for and believe in healing differently than what I have been taught or have known. One of the things I feel like I am learning from them is to pay attention to things like the way Jesus actually responds to the man. I have a tendency to skip to what Jesus say, and just be wowed what he does. What Jesus says, however, reveals something about the character of God and about his kingdom come and coming to this world. The man says, “If you want to…” and Jesus says in response is, “I WANT TO!” Don’t miss that. Jesus is expressing the will of the Father… and the Father wants his kids (all of them) well. So I have been learning to pray differently. Gone are the prayers like, “If it is your will please heal ________.” They have forever been replaced by prayers such as, “Father, I know that it is your will that _____________ be healed and made whole. I know that in your kingdom there is no sickness, so I pray that your kingdom would be made known in this place of brokenness.” Interestingly, as I learn to pray this way, I have seen first hand more healing, both in my own life and in the life of others.

Don’t hear me say that this is some kind of magic incantation, or that I have an understanding of all the hows and whys or that I have the answers to all of the questions that surround a challenging topic like healing. But do hear that God’s supernatural power to intervene and bring healing and wholeness has become much more natural for me. My faith in God and my expectations of what God can (and will) do has forever been changed. It’s not, “writing checks that I can’t cash.” It is simply learning more fully to trust in who God is, and in what God wants for us as God’s family.

9 thoughts on “I Want To

  1. Honestly Michael I wish I had an easy answer, but I never want to settle for a cop out. The best answer I have is, I don’t know.

    What I do know is there are a lot of forces at work in all of this. It is a battle and we join in the fight by proclaiming the Kingdom when we see it. I don’t know why people aren’t all healed or why sometimes things don’t work out the way we hope, but I know that God is making all things new and invites us to join with him in advancing this new “Kingdom” here on earth, trusting that one day all will be renewed.

    Martin Luther talked about it in terms of “Two Kingdoms” or the “already and not yet.” You can read a basic overview of it here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Doctrine_of_the_two_kingdoms Of course, this is a wikipedia article, so it is not to be taken as a theological treatise.

  2. Lord Jesus, pls give us mustard seed faith, believing for Your resurrection healing power to be magnified !

Leave a Reply

