Simple, Normal, Familiar

Over the next 31 days I will be reading and reflecting on scriptures focused on healing.  If you want to join me you can CLICK HERE to sign up for the reading plan at YouVersion.com

Read

  • Matthew 8:14-17
  • Isaiah 53:3-5
  • Luke 4:38-39

This morning I was dreaming just before I woke up.  I don’t know how that is for you, but for me that usually involves dreaming of a scenario that starts out familiar and simple, then it takes a turn in to the strange and complicated.  This morning my dream started with a simple visit with my brother.  We hung out, ate supper, talked.  Simple.  Normal.  Familiar.  By the time I woke up, however, the dream had evolved into a complicated scene where we trying to cover our tracks in some kind of complex crime scheme involving multiple people and a dog.  Strange.  I know.  The point is, sleep should be a place of comfort and familiarity.  I’m not sure why, but my subconscious sometimes turns what should be simple in to a complex, chaotic, disorienting experience.  

For some, any talk of healing conjures images of questionable TV preachers with perfect hair or revival meetings with people shouting and shaking on the floor.  Lets be honest, that scene is ok for some people, but it makes a lot of us uncomfortable.  It makes me uncomfortable.  When I am in these kind of environments I really struggle.  I get overwhelmed by the chaos, and it feels like the room closes in on me.  Nothing about it feels normal or familiar, and I’m not sure it has to be that way.  One of my mentors talks a lot about, “making the supernatural natural.”  When I look at scripture it seems like this is more in line with how Jesus operated.  When Jesus exercised his supernatural power and healed someone, he never caused a big scene.  It was just a normal, simple expression of who he was.  It wasn’t a big production, even in big crowds.    

16That evening many demon-possessed people were brought to Jesus. He cast out the evil spirits with a simple command, and he healed all the sick. (Mark 8:16 NLT)

When Jesus healed, sometimes people simply got up and resumed their normal activity.

39Standing at her bedside, he rebuked the fever, and it left her. And she got up at once and prepared a meal for them. (Luke 4:39 NLT)

Healing, and other supernatural expressions of God’s power don’t have to be strange.  What God can, wants to, and will do is beyond my comprehension.  That being said, what I’m coming to understand is that God’s supernatural activity in this world is not intended to make us uncomfortable.  Things like healing are better understood as natural, normal expressions of the Kingdom of God.  Jesus even teaches us to pray, 10 your kingdom come, your will be done, on earth as it is in heaven.  (Matthew 6:10 NIV)  In its fullness, the Kingdom of God is a place where under God’s rule and reign NO ONE IS SICK, NO ONE IS POOR, NO ONE IS HUNGRY.  We are taught to pray for this rule and reign to START NOW!  Not just off in a distant future when we die.  It’s as if Jesus is teaching us to expect things like healing and provision, because for Jesus those things are the norm.

Healing isn’t about embracing chaos or shaking wildly on the floor or going to tent revivals or sending money to bad sweater-wearing, perfect-haired TV preachers.  Healing is simply a natural expression of our King, Jesus as he ushers in his Kingdom — his rule and reign in this world.

Go have a normal day… but raise the bar on normal.

2 thoughts on “Simple, Normal, Familiar

  1. Really expecting Jesus to do exceedinly abundantly MORE than what we ask or imagine tomorrow, Pastor Brian!! May He give you a fresh anointing to lead the flock into His healing power and love. 🙂

Leave a Reply

