Focus

Read Philippians 3

focus-300x205

Why is it so hard to focus?  Why can the buzz of my phone or the ding of my email grab my attention so easily, no matter what I’m doing?  Why do I try to do 10 projects simultaneously and then wonder why none of them come out as well as I had hoped or intended?  What might happen if I could better implement ways of keeping my attention fixed on that which is the driving force in my life?  I want with everything I am to live my life where my day-to-day is shaped by joining in God’s mission in the world.  I want to live and move and breathe in such a way that the Spirit of God is free to express himself in and through me.  Through my life and through my family I want people to know and experience the Kingdom of God.  DING!  No lie, as I finished typing that sentence my email sounded and even though I have not read the message yet, I confess I glanced at the notifier and I know what the message is about.  That dreaded ding of distraction.  Sigh.  Why is it so hard to focus?

In Philippians 3 Paul is challenging the fledgling church in Philippi to stay focused.  Sounds like my problem is not a new one.  For the Philippians the distraction came in the form of a group of people preaching a gospel contrary to that which Paul was preaching.  It was a gospel of requirement rather than grace and it was drawing their focus away from Jesus.  It was a gospel that focused on what they had to do rather than what Jesus had already done.  It was a ding of distraction that sent them spiraling back into old ways and habits and further distancing them from what God had for them.  So Paul said,

15 So let’s keep focused on that goal, those of us who want everything God has for us. If any of you have something else in mind, something less than total commitment, God will clear your blurred vision– you’ll see it yet! 16 Now that we’re on the right track, let’s stay on it.

Lord, clear my blurred vision.  I want to see you clearly and follow your lead.  You have more for me and my family than we can even imagine.  Keep us focused as we live on mission together today.

Leave a Reply

