Prayer for a Tuesday

Psalm 86:8—10 and 15

Among the gods there is none like you, Lord; no deeds can compare with yours. All the nations you have made will come and worship before you, Lord; they will bring glory to your name. For you are great and do marvelous deeds; you alone are God…. You, Lord, are a compassionate and gracious God, slow to anger, abounding in love and faithfulness.

There are plenty of other, “wannabe god’s” that fight for my attention daily. As much as I guard against it, every day things fight for my attention like money, status, authority, success, other people’s perception, etc. There are countless voices of potential influence in my life. Help me today Jesus. Help me to discern your voice above all the others. Help me to fix my eyes on you and follow your lead. There is no other like you God. You are the ONE! May my attention not be divided today. May words, my actions and the entirety of my being be a reflection of your life in me today.

Leave a Reply

