Great

“And we pray this in order that you may live a life worthy of the Lord and may please him in every way; bearing fruit in every good work, growing in knowledge of God, being strengthened with all power according to his glorious might so that you may have great endurance and patience, and joyfully giving thanks to the Father, who has qualified you to share in the inheritance of the saints in the  kingdom of light.” – Colossians 1:10-12 (NIV)

There is a lot to take in here.  I could spend time soaking in the fact that, through Jesus, we are qualified to share in the inheritance of the saints, not by anything we can do, but by what God has done for us out of pure love.  Humbling.  But today the part that dug deep for me from this passage was the endurance and patience part.  Right before I opened my Bible, I prayed that the Lord would speak to my heart today, and like always, He knew exactly what I needed to hear.

We are in Fort Wayne, IN this week.  We moved Brian here to begin his new call as pastor at Come2Go Ministries.  It’s exciting and new and crazy.  So much has happened in the last 3 months.  It has been a whirlwind.   I find myself teetering with excitement and frustration.  Come next week, the kids and I head to PA to visit my family and then back to NC.  We have not sold our house yet, so the kids and I will be returning until we can figure out what we are going to do with all of that.

I know God has his hand in it all.  I know this move to Fort Wayne is God’s plan for us.  I know this.  I believe it.  But I am not very patient!  I don’t want to leave Brian here.  I don’t want to take my kids away from their dad for a month.  I want to worship at Come2Go.  I want to stay and get to know the people and the city.  I want to settle in.  (I’m a settler!)  I don’t like any of this.  Sigh.  But I know it will all work out.

Through His power, according to His glorious might, not only can I find endurance and patience, but I can find great endurance and patience!  Oh how I needed that word to be there.  I am so thankful that God knows me so well.   Today, I surrender it all again.  I will most likely have to do it again tomorrow, or perhaps even tonight.  I will, for I know he has plans for our future (Jeremiah 29:11).  I know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him (Romans 8:28).

And so today, I pray…May we pray for each other in order that we may live a life worthy of the Lord and may please him in every way; bearing fruit in every good work, growing in knowledge of God, being strengthened with all power according to his glorious might so that we may have great endurance and patience, and joyfully give thanks to the Father, who has qualified us to share in the inheritance of the saints in the kingdom of light.

Will you join me in praying like Paul did?  I don’t know about you today, but I could use endurance and patience in the great category.

Be Blessed!

Michelle

4 thoughts on “Great

  1. And I know, dear Sister Michelle, that our GREAT God will give you everything you need according to His riches in glory! We are so excited about you and Brian and the children being at come2go, so we will patiently wait WITH YOU to endure His “stretching”! Holy Hugs (( ❤ )) Sister Lee

  2. I needed this today Michelle! My (patience) something I always had plenty of has been fraying, it seems I have less, rather than more. Learning how to deal with 2yr old along with learning a new business, ear infections, constant noise, busyness, plus many other things seems to have scrambled my brain and left me wondering “who am I?” “this is not me” and where are the patience everyone always talked about me having? The Lord has opened my eyes to many things of late, but actually conquering them is so difficult, my patience being a very big factor here. Thank you again! I pray everything works out quickly! P.S. Liam is having tubes this morning, please keep him in your prayers…we have been fighting this since Christmas and five antibiotics have done nothing.

    • Praying for Liam, Julie! Motherhood is a lot more demanding than I ever imagined it to be. It’s wonderful an I wouldn’t change it for the world, but I can totally relate! You all are in my prayers. I hope we can get together when the kids and I get back in March. Be blessed.

Leave a Reply

