Today

forgiveness_wordle

“Therefore, as God’s chosen people, dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility  gentleness and patience.  Bear with each other and forgive whatever grievances you may have against one another.  Forgive as the Lord forgave you.  And over all these virtues put on love, which binds them all together in perfect unity.” – Colossians 3:12:14

I love how through His Word, God speaks so deeply to my heart.  There are days when I read and I am literally in awe at how much I, personally, needed to hear what I read.  It happens often.  I shouldn’t be surprised.  God’s word is alive and active.  I believe that.  There are the seasons of life when over and over in different parts of Scripture, God leads me back to a recurring word, as if there is some specific work He wants to do in me.  It doesn’t usually occur to me at first.  It is like God is trying to get my attention but, unfortunately, it often takes this process to get it.

“Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.  And do not grieve the Holy Spirit of God, with whom you were sealed for the day of redemption.  Get rid of all bitterness, rage and anger, brawling and slander, along with every form of malice.  Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other just as Christ forgave you.” – Ephesians 4:29-32

Nothing really that isn’t obvious.  Living a life of forgiveness and love no matter the circumstances is what God calls us to do.  It is what I know as a Christ-follower, I am called to do.  It is what I need to work on every day.  Then there is the moment when it all comes together, that which God has been calling me to embrace.  It is usually an area in my life that I pray about and know I need to continue to press into, but now I see how much work I really need to do.  The baggage I carry, the hurts, the failures, the heartaches.  I have been carrying them around far too long.  It is time to truly let go.  To allow forgiveness, love and grace to wash over me and flow into the lives of those around me.  It can only begin with me actually acting upon what I know.

“But encourage one another daily, as long as it is called Today, so that none of you may be hardened by sin’s deceitfulness.  We have come to share in Christ if we hold firmly till the end the confidence we had at first.  As it has just been said: ‘Today if you hear His voice, do not harden your hearts as you did in the rebellion.'” – Hebrews 3:13-15

It begins with Today.  Each day, what/who is God calling me to press into?  To let go of?  To forgive and love?  As I prepare to say good-bye to NC and move into a new season of life, I am working on ending well.  I can not end well, if I do not live each day, one day at a time, in love and forgiveness, for myself as well as with others.  And so I embrace Today.

I love how through His Word, God speaks so deeply to my heart.

How has He been speaking to you?

Leave a Reply

