Who?

Read John 8:12-20

Who is this Jesus? Who does he think he is? By what right is he saying these things? Under whose authority is he doing them?

“‘I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.'”

He can’t just say this about himself and expect people to believe it right? He needs a credible witness. Who is this Jesus? Who does he think he is!?

“In your own Law it is written that the testimony of two witnesses is true. I am one who testifies for myself; my other witness is the Father, who sent me. ‘”

Wait… What?! Who is your father? Where is he? We want to talk to him!

“‘You do not know me or my Father. ‘If you knew me, you would know my Father also.'”

Who is this Jesus? Who does he think he is!?

It seems to me that Jesus was supremely confident in his identity. He knew exactly who he was and he spoke and acted accordingly. Who is this Jesus? How we answer that question is supremely important. Who is this Jesus? He is the son of God. The King of all kings. The Lord of all lords. Our Savior, Redeemer and Friend. Name above all names! Emmanuel, God with us! Our everything. Alpha, omega, beginning and end.

Who is this Jesus? How will you answer this question?

Leave a Reply

