38 Years

Read John 5:1-15

“The sick man said, “Sir, when the water is stirred, I don’t have anybody to put me in the pool. By the time I get there, somebody else is already in.” 8 Jesus said, “Get up, take your bedroll, start walking.” 9 The man was healed on the spot. He picked up his bedroll and walked off.”

I love the healing stories of Jesus but, if I’m being honest, there is a part of this story that bugs me. I don’t know if there was any real power in that pool or not, but obviously (by the number of sick and hurting people who had gathered there) there was a belief that when the water stirred it had healing power. Praise God that Jesus, who absolutely has healing power, came along and ached out to this man who had struggled for 38 years. what bugs me in this story, however, is this: Where were the people to help this man to the pool? Did his friends and family abandon him? Was there no one in 38 years who could help him get to the front of the line… Even just once? Apparently not. Instead, people either walked past or stepped over him to look after their own needs first. In 38 years was there no one who could become, even if just for a few moments, the answer to this mans prayers? This bugs me. It bugs me, because I see myself in the story… not as the one waiting on help and healing, but as one who is often far too busy or far too self-absorbed to notice and extend a hand of help and comfort. I’m not always this way, but there are certainly times (more often than I am proud to admit) this is true of me. Today Jesus, may I be the answer to someone’s prayers. Help me to slow down long enough to notice those who I typically ignore. Give me the faith to extend a hand of grace to someone in need.

Leave a Reply

