Keep calm…

Read 1 Peter 5:6-11

So be content with who you are, and don’t put on airs. God’s strong hand is on you; he’ll promote you at the right time. 7 Live carefree before God; he is most careful with you.
He Gets the Last Word. 8 Keep a cool head. Stay alert. The Devil is poised to pounce, and would like nothing better than to catch you napping. 9 Keep your guard up. You’re not the only ones plunged into these hard times. It’s the same with Christians all over the world. So keep a firm grip on the faith. 10 The suffering won’t last forever. It won’t be long before this generous God who has great plans for us in Christ– eternal and glorious plans they are!– will have you put together and on your feet for good. 11 He gets the last word; yes, he does.

It never ceases to amaze me how God seems to speak so directly into my life through his word in scripture. I woke up this morning grumpy and unmotivated, debating whether to spend my quiet time reading scripture and praying or making sure my fantasy football team is ready to go for the weekend. Fantasy football almost won this morning, but I’m glad it didn’t. One of the things about doing what I do as a pastor is that, no matter how carefully I plan my day, it rarely goes as planned. Yesterday is the perfect example. I had set aside the afternoon to bring communion to and visit with some of our folks in retirement communities. I ended up seeing no one. Two were sound asleep when I got there and the other was indisposed for 45 minutes while I stood outside the door. It was nobody’s fault. I’ve been doing this long enough to know that things like this happen, but driving all around town and striking out felt like a waste of almost 3 hours. It also means that part of today will be spent trying again. I know… woes me, right? All this to say I woke up grumpy this morning needing to hear words like, “Live carefree before God; he is most careful with you. He Gets the Last Word. Keep a cool head. Stay alert. The Devil is poised to pounce, and would like nothing better than to catch you napping. Keep your guard up.”

Michelle and I are part of the extended family of an organization called 3dMinistries that trains and equips people to multiply disciples. They have a slogan that simply says! “Keep calm and disciple on!” Yes these are challenging times but God has us. So today that is what I am going to put my trust in, grumpy and unmotivated as I am. I will put my trust in God, keep calm, and disciple on!

Leave a Reply

