Joy and Rest and Peace

1 Peter 4:12-13

12 Friends, when life gets really difficult, don’t jump to the conclusion that God isn’t on the job. 13 Instead, be glad that you are in the very thick of what Christ experienced. This is a spiritual refining process, with glory just around the corner.

I have to be honest, these have not been the easiest days for me and my family. There has been a number of things going on with my work that have tested both my patience and endurance. Without going in to detail, I have been on the receiving end of some pretty harsh words and criticism… All because I am trying to lead our church in the direction I believe God would have us go. I’m by no means perfect, and not above critique, but lately this has been above and beyond the norm.

This morning I found great comfort in these words from 1 Peter. Today and every day I need reminding that there is reason for joy. Even in the thick of trouble, God remains with us and God is ALWAYS good.

Jesus, whatever comes my way this day, may I find joy and rest and peace in your presence.

One thought on “Joy and Rest and Peace

  1. Hebrews 12.1-3
    These verses have been a comfort and a challenge to me, to run the race set before me, considering what Jesus endured, not losing heart.
    Ah but it is hard isn’t it? May God bless you this day with encouragement and Peace so that you do not lose heart.

Leave a Reply

