Worship…

Read Isaiah 29:13-16

The Master said: “These people make a big show of saying the right thing, but their hearts aren’t in it. Because they act like they’re worshiping me but don’t mean it, I’m going to step in and shock them awake, astonish them, stand them on their ears. The wise ones who had it all figured out will be exposed as fools. The smart people who thought they knew everything will turn out to know nothing.”

The last few weeks have been some of the most challenging for me in a while. There has just been a lot going on and it has been quite the roller coaster of experience and emotion. In the midst of the struggle, however, I have found myself longing to worship. Songs have taken on new meaning and I’ve found myself singing at the top of my lungs in the car as I drive around. Parts of our liturgy have penetrated my heart and put words to that for which I have had none. Time spent with family and friends has felt like holy time. My heart longs for worship, and God is meeting me in that longing.

What does your heart long for?

Today I pray for those who struggle to know and experience the presence of our living God. I pray that worship would become more for each of us than simply going through the motions. I pray that God would awaken our hearts to love and serve him with all that we are and all that we have!

How unshakeable are your ways of love and truth, O God. The earth abounds with your goodness and grace. As beggars we come, as kings we depart; richly blessed and filled with all good things from your hand. Amen. (from Moravian Daily Texts 9/4/12)

Leave a Reply

