What do I want from Jesus?

Read Luke 18:31-43

Luke 18:40-41
Jesus stopped and ordered him to be brought over. When he had come near, Jesus asked, 41 “What do you want from me?” He said, “Master, I want to see again.”

It’s Monday morning after a long weekend. It’s raining outside and I’m up early, getting ready to go spend the bulk of the morning at the car repair shop. This is not exactly shaping up to be the most exciting day off I have ever had… and its only 6:30AM! Needless to say, I’m not feeling particularly inspired at the moment. I am, however, struck by both Jesus’ question and the beggar’s response in this text.

First of all, I am humbled beyond measure that t is the kind of God we follow. Jesus, God incarnate, certainly had things on his mind and plenty to do. he had just shared with his closest followers that they were headed up to Jerusalem so he could be handed over and killed, yet he stops to kneel down next to a beggar and offer himself to him. This says a lot about God’s character to me. As expressed through Jesus we see a God who is wild and untamed, but also one who is infinitely loving and compassionate. He could have just as easily kept walking that day and no one would have thought less of him because of it… except maybe the beggar, but he was just a beggar, right? But Jesus, as he does with us and everyone else, saw him as much more. He saw this beggar as a beloved child of God, so he offered himself to the man and he was healed. Amazing.

I’m also struck, however, with how clear the beggar was in his response to Jesus’ question, “What do you want from me?” He wanted to see and he didn’t hesitate to ask. I’m struck by his directness because as I consider this question, I’m not sure I have such a certain response. What is it that I long for? What in me is incomplete or needs to be made whole again? Given the opportunity, do I know what I would ask for? What do I need, and do I have the faith to believe that Jesus might actually meet me in that place of need?

Leave a Reply

