Seek First…

Read Luke 12:22-34

Seek the Kingdom of God above all else, and he will give you everything you need. (Luke 12:31)

This week I am away at camp. I got asked to lead the adult Bible studies for Family Camp at Okoboji Lutheran Bible Camp in NW Iowa. A lifetime ago I was on staff here. This was the place where I first cut my teeth in ministry and as a leader. I was young then, and remember I was particularly struggling to see and seek, “God’s will” for my life. This pursuit dominated my life and my prayers. “What do you want me to do God? What do you have for me next? I just want to do your will!” Finally, I remember one night sitting in one of the cabins here at camp having a Bible study with some other guys. One of my friends said something to me that has stayed with me for the last 20 years. He said, “Brian… maybe if you spent LESS time seeking God’s WILL and MORE time seeking GOD you would be better off. Maybe then God’s will would become more clear to you.” It was one of those, “Aha!” moments in my life. So simple, yet so hard.

I want to know you God above all things. I want to join with you in your Kingdom work in this world. Let me see and seek you today above all else! May your Kingdom come both in me and through me today.

 

Leave a Reply

