Don't Trouble Yourself…

Read Luke 7:1-17

So Jesus went with them. But just before they arrived at the house, the officer sent some friends to say, “Lord, don’t trouble yourself by coming to my home, for I am not worthy of such an honor. I am not even worthy to come and meet you. Just say the word from where you are, and my servant will be healed. (Luke 7:6, 7 NLT)

I love reading the healing stories of Jesus. They paint incredible pictures of God’s amazing power and they serve as signposts pointing to the greater story of the Kingdom come in Jesus. I wonder, though, something about Roman officer in this story. Did he miss the point in some ways? He was certainly faithful. So faithful, in fact, that Jesus says, “I tell you, I haven’t seen faith like this in all Israel!” (Luke 7:9 NLT) Yes, he was faithful, but it also seems that he wasn’t ready to allow Jesus near the real messes of his life… his household and his day to day. “Don’t trouble yourself by coming to my home, ” he says, “for I am not worthy of such an honor. I am not even worthy to come and meet you. Just say the word from where you are…” It’s true. He wasn’t worthy, and neither are we, but that is the beauty of God’s grace expressed in and through Jesus. Jesus comes to us, even though we are messed up, broken down, unworthy, or whatever you want to call it. Jesus comes to us regardless of where we are, regardless of what we’ve done or left undone, and regardless of how unworthy we may be. Jesus, by the grace of God comes to us in the messiness of our lives and brings hope and healing and wholeness. We don’t have to keep him at a distance until we’ve got it together because Jesus meets us wherever we are.

Leave a Reply

