Psalm 25

There are times when I get overwhelmed.  I know.  It’s hard to believe (note sarcasm), but there are times when I feel ill-equipped and under-qualified at work, as a pastor, teacher, father, husband, friend, son or any of the other many hats I wear during the course of any given day.  There are times when I get overwhelmed and I’m sure I’m not alone.  Every one of us has those times when we hit a wall and our confidence gets rattled.  The question is, what do we do when this happens?  How do we shake it off and keep moving forward in confidence as the person God has called us to be… doing what it is that God has called us to do?

I had a rough couple of days earlier in the week.  I’ve just been wrestling through a few things and I got rattled. Then I came across Psalm 25 in my abiding time this week.  Psalm 25 was written by King David, the mighty warrior, the great leader, the one who was after God’s own heart.  All of these things describe David for sure, but in Psalm 25 David had obviously been facing significant challenge and his confidence was waning.  So David, the mighty king, called out to God from his place of weakness saying,

“If I keep I keep my eyes on God, I won’t trip over my own feet.  Look at me and help me!  I’m all alone and in big trouble.  Keep watch over me and keep me out of trouble; Don’t let me down when I run to you.  Use all your skill to put me together; I wait to see your finished product.”  (Psalm 25:16-17; 25:20-21 MSG).

So what do we do when our confidence is shaken?  We do as David did and cry out to our God who never falters, ask God to put us back together, and wait with great expectations as God does that which only God can do both in us and through us.

May you find your strength and place your trust in God alone today and always!

Leave a Reply

