Choose Today Whom You Will Worship

Tuesday was one of those days.  You know the kind I’m talking about.  I woke up feeling tired, grumpy, anxious, worried and a number of other things – none of which describe the way I wish to be on any given day.  I am a person who generally has a positive outlook on life, but Tuesday I just wasn’t feeling it.  Then (as has become my regular practice each day I’m in the office… you are always welcome to come and join me at 11:30) I went into the sanctuary to pray and sing and read scripture.  Each day I simply go and sing a hymn or a song that speaks to where I am that day, and I use a daily prayer guide and the scripture from our “Taking Faith Home” insert to shape the time.  The scripture that day was Joshua 24:1, 14-27 and, as is so often the case, God met me in his word.  In this text, Joshua called together all the tribes of Israel and put forth a challenge to set aside all other gods and worship the one true God alone.

I was struck particularly by the first part of verse 15.  Joshua says, “If you have no desire to worship the Lord, choose today whom you will worship…”  What struck me was that in the way I had carried myself to that point, while I wasn’t really worshipping any other gods, neither was I turning to the Lord in the midst of my struggles.  So I joined with the people of God I was reading about in scripture who responded to Joshua’s challenge saying, “We will worship the Lord our God and obey him.” and that marked a turning point in my day.  Something significant always happens when we turn our attention to the Lord, even (or maybe especially) in the midst of our struggles.  As we (re)turn to the Lord, we are reminded of the reality of his love and the assurance of his presence with us.  Tuesday became different.  What a joy it is to be part of this church community who declares each day, WE WILL WORSHIP THE LORD OUR GOD!

 

Leave a Reply

