Prayer

At graceway (our Church community) we are preparing to start a new teaching series on prayer.  As I have been studying and preparing to teach this series I have come to the stark realization that for most of my life I have been a person who prays, but I am not (yet) a person of prayer.  People ask me all the time to pray for them and with them, and I do… faithfully.  But to this point, prayer has not been a way of life for me.  It has simply been a spiritual activity in which I regularly participate.  I want that to change.  We have called this series simply, "Lord, teach us to pray" and my hope is that this is what he will do.  It has been an incredibly humbling experience over the last few weeks to resign to the fact that there are others who are much more qualified to teach this series from their own experience.  I will be teaching from weakness and trusting that God can use that too.  My hope is that Jesus will teach our community to pray (myself included) — I mean really pray. Because what I am discovering as I hear and read the stories and experiences of others is that living a life of prayer can quite literally change everything!  I think we all want to trust that God is alive and well… that God is loving and good and at work in our lives.  Living a life of prayer keeps us keenly aware of that reality.  My hope is that Jesus will awaken in us a life of prayer together as a community that we will be forever changed as a result.  

I would love to hear your prayer stories.  How has God made himself know to you in your prayer life?  How have you seen/experienced the power of prayer at work in your life?  Maybe one of the ways that Jesus will honor our request to, "teach us to pray" will be through your story.  Feel free to share your stories here!

If you live in our area and want to be part of this as we strive to become a praying community, we'd love for you to join us on Sunday mornings at 10AM.

Prayer

 

Posted via email from Pastor Brian Spahr

Leave a Reply

