Donald Miller Book Giveaway and Missional Community

BOOK GIVEAWAY

Donald miller  

OK… first things first.  I have an extra unread copy of Donald Miller's latest book, A Million Miles in a Thousand Years: What I Learned While Editing My Life that I would love to give away to someone who reads/contributes to my blog. I would also really like to engage people in dialogue about the subject of Missional Community.  So here's what we are going to do.

  1. Leave a comment on this post (it can just say, "Hey!  I want that book!")

  2. You will receive a bonus entry for any of the following:

  • Leaving a comment that actually pertains to the discussion of Missional Community
  • Following this Blog by CLICKING HERE
  • Follow me on Twitter @bspahr
  • Sharing a link to/retweeting this post on your blog/facebook/twitter

Sound good?!  If you are already doing some of the things to earn "bonus entries"… just let me know in your comment and I will add you to the drawing accordingly.  Thanks!  I can't wait to hear from you.  Now here's the post:

MISSIONAL COMMUNITY

"Missional" and "Community" are both words that, independent of each other, that have become a regular part of the vernacular in church circles.  There has been much written on both, so there is no real point in me trying to add to that already over-saturated body of work here.  Just FYI, A quick Amazon Search for "christian community" produced 4776 titles (13 of which released just this month) and 351 "missional" titles.  Not bad for a word (missional) that is not officially even a word… at least according to Webster's.

For the sake of conversation and clarity, here are two simplified definitions:

Missional - a Christian term that describes a missionary lifestyle; adopting the posture, thinking, behaviors, and practices of a missionary in order to engage others with the gospel message.1

Community - a social, religious, occupational, or other group sharing common characteristics or interests and perceived or perceiving itself as distinct in some respect from the larger society within which it exists2 

With these definitions in mind, what I am most interested in as a follower of Jesus and as a leader in a local expression of the Church is really the fusion of these two terms:  MISSIONAL COMMUNITY.  How do we become a community whose common characteristic — what distinguishes us from the larger society in which we exist — is our missionary lifestyle?  How do we become a community that that shares a common mission and pursues that through our life together?

These are not rhetorical questions.  Let's talk about this.  This is what I am most interested in pursuing with my life and in our community of faith — this is where I want to invest my leadership — but it is often a struggle.  It is much easier to dream about and talk about than it is actually live.  So for those of you who are practitioners of "missional community":  I'd love to dialogue about your experiences.  Those who share my struggle in living this out:  I'd love to dialogue about those as well. 

For a primer on Missional Community CLICK HERE  

2 thoughts on “Donald Miller Book Giveaway and Missional Community

  1. Brian I share in your struggle. It is hard personally sometimes to stay focused on Christ in my life with all the things of life flying at you, but to be a part of a community and do God’s work sometimes can be a struggle, but if you attain it, then it is a well oiled machine that works even in spite of itself.
    The real thing about missional community though in my understanding is this: the gathering you belong to is either a missional community or you are on a downward spiral. Meaning you are either a missional community or you are a dying community.
    To harsh? How do we be community about doing God’s work when everyone it seems is looking out for each other.
    Love the question, and the conversation will be great!
    On a side note, I would love to win the book, I am already following you on Twitter and now linked this with my Facebook, and I’ll add your blog to my network blogs on Facebook, and in a minute I’ll post something on my blog (asacredrebel.wordpress.com) about this. This is a great conversation to have, I hope it develops into something so we all can grow and become better missional communities.

  2. Brian, you can just pass that book on to me a week from Saturday if you like. It is on my list to read. I like the concept.
    As to the conversation. I tell you this is what I long for. When I read through blogs, my mind is challenged as to what missional community would look like, but I really haven’t experience what I envision. With the cupboard we have created an avenue for being missional, but missional is not really an activity it is a whole approach to living the gospel of the Kingdom in community.
    One of my favorite definitions of missional is by Brother Maynard “Live your faith. Share your life.” I love it because it is quite the opposite of the evangelical program which seems to tell us to “Live our lives. Share our faith.” What I love about the whole thing is how super/natural it is. Live our faith is a reliance on grace to put into practice the teachings of Christ in our very natural, down to earth lives. Sharing our lives is very natural, simple and yet very complex in this very complex world. It too relies on the supernatural grace of God to do something that is very natural and life giving. This aspect really has to do with incarnating Christ in our community. One of the fathers of the church put it this way, “What Christ is by nature, we are called to be by grace.” Irenaeus, I believe.
    Another mind altering change of thinking has to do with the very nature of church. We often think of the church as having a mission. But missional communities, missional churches, are reversed. It is more like “a mission (God’s) has a people (church, community, etc.)
    I am following you at network blogs, twitter, google buzz (do I get an extra point for that), and posted a link at facebook. Honestly, I don’t think many read my blog, but facebook should get you some traffic.

Leave a Reply

