MATTHEW 10:1-15 "Jesus sends out the twelve"
"He called his twelve disciples to him and gave them authority to drive out evil spirits and to heal every disease and sickness."
This passage, like so many, is one that I have heard my whole life yet I've paid very little attention over the years to how it actually connects with my own walk of faith. Texts like this one have always seemed like descriptions of a world long past where a select group of people had a particular authority and opportunity because of their proximity and relationship to Jesus… but it doesn't have to be. For the majority of my life I have been unable or unwilling to accept the authority that Jesus has given me as his follower, much less the power that accompanies it. I don't think I'm alone in this. As close to home as my own son who was born desperately premature, I have witnessed Jesus' amazing power to heal and I have been filled with great joy as he has grown in to a healthy and vibrant little boy. Through that experience I witnessed the authority of Jesus working in and through his followers as they prayed with confidence and conviction not only about what God could do, but what he would do. Why is it then that I sometimes struggle to claim the authority given to me in Christ Jesus? I want to pray with conviction and boldly proclaim that the, "Kingdom of God has come near."

Help me Jesus this day to live with confidence in who I am. Help me to claim the authority that comes with being your follower.
Jesus_twelve

Leave a Reply

