Morning Reflections 9/17/09

Matthew 4:12-25

"…and immediately they left the boat and their father and followed him." 

I've often wrestled with the "immediacy" of those we read about who dropped everything when Jesus called and followed. I think it is because I know for me following (and the surrender required to do so) often comes after a good bit of wrestling. I'm an introvert and a thinker so I don't often act on impulse when it comes to taking significant action. This has served me well over the years, but it has also caused me to miss opportunities because I have been over-cautious or too slow to react. When it comes to following Jesus I think what my heart longs for is the ability to drop my "let me reason through it first" way of life and follow Jesus. If repentance really is the ongoing, life-long journey of (re)turning towards God, which I believe it is, then I think learning to overcome my reservations about following is a big part of my journey. 

Lord, help me to let go of all that stands in the way of following you… no matter how long it takes. I'm in this thing for the long-haul, Jesus. Teach me to follow you.

Leave a Reply

