Morning Reflections

Matthew 4:1-11

“If you are the son of God…”

In my life the times when fall hardest for the lies of the evil one are the times when I question my identity as a child of God. That little voice in the back of my head convinces me that I am incapable or underqualified… that God couldn’t possibly love me or include me as long as I’m still struggling with (fill in the blank). So, convinced that this is true, I fall into complacency and stop striving towards my hopes and dreams. Here’s the interesting thing… the best lies (or at least the most convincing ones) are those that just twist things that are true. I think this is why it is so easy to fall prey to the kind of identity questions that Jesus was being challenged with during his wilderness temptation. The truth is, I AM incapable and underqualified to do what God has called me to do (and this is true for any of us)… on my own. I could never have enough experience or read enough books or find enough “right” answers, but I can either be convinced that my resume is incomplete and do nothing…falling for the trick of the evil one or I can trust that despite my weaknesses God has given me everything I need to be who God is calling me to be. Is it easy? No. Are there going to be times when I mess things up? Yes. Does God still believe in me, even then? Absolutely! 

Lord, let me live today as one who trusts in the promise of your presence. Give me the courage to be who you have called me to be.

Leave a Reply

