Morning Reflections – Matthew 1:18-25

Matthew 1:18-25

Along with my daily scripture reading I am currently reading a book by Brennan Manning called “The Furious Longing of God”  In the opening chapter Manning quotes Song of Solomon 7:10 which says, “I belong to my beloved, and his desire is for me” which has been the prayer that his shaped his life and relationship with God for more than 30 years.  The Song describes an intense relationship between two lovers.  In it’s simplest interpretation the “lovers” in the Song are God and his people. Nothing illustrates the depth of God’s love for us more than his willingness to send Jesus into the world knowing that he would suffer and die on our behalf.  God came to us in the person of Jesus so that each one of us might be saved (even his name, Jesus, means “the Lord saves”.)  

Jesus, as I live this day may I know and experience the depth of your love.

Leave a Reply

