Morning Reflections – 1 John 3

For some reason today when I opened my computer to read and reflect,
the Bible website I use (youversion.com) brought up today's texts in
"The Message" version… which is a paraphrase. I never use this
version for deep study because it is more of an interpretation than a
translation, but sometimes I think it really captures the essence of
what the text is communicating and puts it into understandable
language. Today it did just that. It reads,

1 What marvelous love the Father has extended to us! Just look at
it—we’re called children of God! That’s who we really are. But that’s
also why the world doesn’t recognize us or take us seriously, because
it has no idea who he is or what he’s up to.2 But friends, that’s
exactly who we are: children of God. And that’s only the beginning. Who
knows how we’ll end up! What we know is that when Christ is openly
revealed, we’ll see him—and in seeing him, become like him.

The second half of verse one really jumped off my screen. "…the world
doesn’t recognize us or take us seriously…" If I stop there, I could
very easily point my finger at the world. "Don't they know who we are?!
We are children of God! They just don't get it." But it is the second
half of that verse that jumps out at me. It says, "because it has no
idea who he is or what he’s up to." Could it be that far too often the
reason that the world has no idea who God is or what he is up to
because we (the children of God) have missed the mark in how we
represent God in our relationships with those who do not yet know? I
know that many times I have misrepresented God… proclaiming judgment
(my own) over grace… drawing lines in the sand instead of opening the
door.

Today Lord, I pray that someone might catch a glimpse of who you are and what you are up to by the witness of my life.

Leave a Reply

