Morning Reflestions – Hebrews 6:1-3

I have been at this a long time… faith, I mean. I grew up in a home
that was filled with faith and when I was in the 9th grade I committed
myself to following Jesus with my life. There has been some ups and
downs along the way, but for the most part my relationship with Jesus
has always had a profound influence on the way I live. I've read and
studied the Bible (and I continue to do so) to the point where I can
articulate the basics… the elementary teachings of Jesus like they
are just part of me. That being said, I most certainly have not yet
"arrived." I don't have it all together, and I still struggle to find
my identity in Jesus. This text forces the question, "What is it that
will lead me forward in my relationship with Jesus? How might I move
forward to maturity?"

I think this is an important question for any of us to ask, whether we
are new to the faith or if we have been at this our whole lives. Jesus
has more for us to experience… more fullness of what it really means
to live… more than just the basics. I long for this deepening
relationship… this deepening experience of the presence of God.

Leave a Reply

