Morning Reflections – Colossians 2

In the midst of death we have been made alive.

Sometimes I think the
longer I hang around in church circles (which has been my whole life)
the more prone I am to become complacent about the strength of the
gospel. I don't want this to be true, but sometimes I read a passage
like this one and just shrug my shoulders and say, "yeah, I know," like
it is no big deal. Lord, save me from complacency. This is an
incredible message, and no matter how many times I read it… no matter
how many times I say it… I pray that it will hit me smack dab in the
face with the kind of impact that makes it impossible for me to then
just go about my business as if nothing has really happened. God… the
creator of the universe is so deeply interested in and invested in our
lives that he comes to us in our deepest places of despair… while we
are "dead in our sins" and he makes us alive in Christ. My prayer is
that today I will live like this is true… because it is.

3 thoughts on “Morning Reflections – Colossians 2

  1. Thanks for the word Spahr-Dog. It is good to hear from you. I would love to visit and find out more about things are going for you. Give me a buzz sometime? Blessings to you and the family.

  2. I know exactly what you mean, Brian. Especially in seminary when you are constantly studying, it’s easy to take it for granted. During the school year, several of us gather for lectio divina 3 days a week. It has certainly brought us up short. Peace and great post.

  3. DEANO!!! Great to hear from you. Are you and your bro going to be in New Orleans this summer? I would love to catch up.
    Ivy… I found seminary to be one of the most difficult environments to live with a vibrant faith. It is an environment where just about everything that you study, say, write, preach, do is being evaluated in some way. I liken it to American Idol. Often what happens on that show is that contestants who have amazing voices struggle to find or keep their voice (or what made them dynamic or unique) as the judging and the competition rolls on. It’s almost like they forget how do to do what got them there in the first place. Most people go to seminary because God has done an amazing work of transformation in their lives and placed a unique call on our hearts. As our faith (or the way we express or understand it) starts being challenged or graded or questioned or judged, then it can become difficult to remember the work of the heart that happened to lead us to the point of pursuing the call. My faith has been solidified by the experience of seminary, but it has taken a while for my heart to heal. Lectio is such a great discipline in that environment because it is not about understanding or study or exegesis… it is just about listening. It is amazing what happens when we do that. Blessings on your continuing study.

Leave a Reply

